Legal Aid Commission

On December 12, 2017, the Lieutenant-Governor in Council appointed/reappointed the following individuals to the Board of Commissioners of the Newfoundland and Labrador Legal Aid Commission for a two year term.

Reappointments: Allison Hagerty

Appointments: Timothy Chalker, Chairperson, Mark Duggan, Allison Whelan

The Legal Aid Commission provides for the provision of legal counsel to represent eligible residents of the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador charged with offences under the Criminal Code of Canada and other federal and provincial statutes; who have family law disputes; or, who are involved with some types of administrative law matters.