Child Death Review Committee

On October 6, 2017, the Lieutenant-Governor appointed the following individuals to the Child Death Review Committee for a three year term:

Janie Evans, Chairperson, Anna Katic Duffy, Vice-Chairperson, Wilma MacInnis, Sr. Stephen Lee Sgt. Sharon Warren, Judy Voisey, and Michelle Lahey.

The committee is required to review child deaths and maternal deaths as outlined in theĀ Fatalities Investigation Act. After each review, the Committee reports to the Minister on its findings and submits to the Chief Medical Examiner all records relevant to the review. The Committee also monitors trends in these deaths, and may make recommendations on identified trends and determines whether further review is necessary or desirable in the public interest.